Burkhard Bacher - Star CookBurkhard Bacher – all around the world…

As Burkhard Bacher in 1960 saw the light of day, it’s actually a miracle that he did not do this with a small spoon in his hands. The master of pots and pans in the gourmet restaurant – Burkhard Bacher – has early discovered his passion for cooking. After completing his apprenticeship as a chef in the kitchens of renowned houses in South Tyrol, he embarked on a journey to get to know the prestigious kitchens of the world. The influences of international cuisines helped him to cultivate his given grace, and he succeeded in a harmonious way to unite the different cooking philosophies. The delicious dishes he creates in the “Kleine Flamme” describe the personalized global cuisine, which is so characteristic of the culinary art of Burkhard Bacher.

The Stages of Travel and Learning Years

France is the birthplace of haute cuisine, and obviously Burkhard Bacher was magically attracted to the country of the nouvelle cuisine. In prestigious restaurants such as the “Georges Blanc” or the restaurant “L’Oasis” by Stephane Raimbault and Louis Outhier in La Napoule, he gained valuable experiences and influences, which are still today among the foundations of his culinary creations. At “Benito” in Ghent / Belgium he learned all about the manufacture of sausages and pies.

The light and lively cuisine of Italy also plays a decisive role in Bacher’s creations. At the “Enoteca Pinchiorri” in Florence and in the restaurant “Da Vittorio” in Bergamo Burkhard Bacher got a deep insight into the Mediterranean cuisine of Italy.

In the United States, the young chef spent instructive and exciting years in the kitchens of Jean Georges in New York and the gourmet restaurant “Joel” by Joel Antunes in Atlanta.

The Asian influence was now on the travel menu of Burkhard Bacher. During several visits to probably the best hotel in the world – the Hotel “Oriental” in Bangkok – he acquired the art of Thai, Chinese and Japanese cuisine. Thanks to his refined cooking style, and because of his profound capability, he was given the honour of organizing several culinary Italian Food Festivals at the Hotel “Oriental” in Bangkok and in the Hotels “Oriental” in Singapore and Macao.

Burkhard Bacher’s culinary masterpieces were even enjoyed by several crowned heads, among others, the Spanish King Juan Carlos I, Queen Sirikit of Thailand and the Danish Queen Margrethe II.

With the opening of the Restaurant “Kleine Flamme” in Sterzing in 1998, Burkhard Bacher and his wife fulfilled a lifelong dream.

Burkhard Bacher - Sterne Koch der kleinen FlammeBurkhard Bacher – einmal um die Welt…

Als Burkhard Bacher 1960 das Licht der Welt erblickte, ist es eigentlich ein Wunder, dass er dies nicht mit einem kleinen Kochlöffel in den Händen tat. Der Herr über Töpfe und Pfannen im Gourmet Restaurant – Burkhard Bacher – hat schon früh seine Leidenschaft zum Kochen entdeckt. Nach abgeschlossener Kochlehre, die er in den Küchen renommierter Häuser in Südtirol absolvierte, zog es ihn in die namhaften Küchen der Welt hinaus. Die Einflüsse der internationalen Küchen verhalfen ihm dazu, seine gegebene Begnadung zu kultivieren, und es gelang ihm auf harmonische Weise, die verschiedenen Kocheinflüsse zu vereinen. Die delikaten Speisen, die er in der Kleinen Flamme auf die Teller zaubert, beschreiben die personalisierte globale Küche, die so bezeichnend für die Kulinarik von Burkhard Bacher ist.

Die Stationen lehrreicher Wanderjahre

Frankreich ist die Geburtsstätte der gehobenen Küche und somit lag es auf der Hand, dass das Land der Nouvelle Cuisine Burkhard Bacher magisch anzog. In angesehenen Restaurants wie das „Georges Blanc“ oder das Restaurant „L`Oasis“ von Louis Outhier und Stephane Raimbault in La Napoule, sammelte er wertvolle Erfahrungen und Einflüsse, die noch heute zu dem Fundament seines kulinarischen Schaffens gehören. In der Wurst- und Pastetenherstellung perfektionierte er sich in Gent Belgién bei Benito.

Die leichte und vitale Küche Italiens spielt ebenfalls bei den Kreationen Bachers eine maßgebende Rolle. In der Enoteca Pinchiorri in Florenz und im Restaurant “Da Vittorio” in Bergamo bekam Burkhard Bacher einen fundierten Einblick in die mediterrane Küche Italiens.

Der Sprung über den großen Teich ermöglichte lehrreiche und eindrucksvolle Jahre in den Küchen von Jean Georges in New York und im Feinschmeckerrestaurant „Joel“ von Joel Antunes in Atlanta.

Der asiatische Einfluss stand nun auf dem Reisemenü von Burkhard Bacher. Im Laufe mehrerer Aufenthalte in dem wohl besten Hotel der Welt – dem Hotel „Oriental“ in Bangkok – eignete er sich die hohe Kunst der Thailändischen, Chinesischen und Japanischen Küche an. Dank seinem raffinierten Kochstil und aufgrund seines profunden Könnens, wurde ihm die Ehre zuteil, mehrere kulinarische italienische Food Festivals im Hotel „Oriental„ in Bangkok sowie  im „Oriental„ Singapur und Macao zu organisieren.

Burkhard Bachers Meisterwerke durften auch schon mehrere gekrönte Häupter genießen, unter anderem der spanische König Juan Carlos I., Königin Sirikit von Thailand und die dänische Königin Margrethe II.

Mit der Eröffnung der Kleinen Flamme in Sterzing im Jahre 1998 hat sich Burkhard Bacher gemeinsam mit seiner Frau einen Lebenstraum erfüllt.